End -->

Supplement Review: Juice Plus

As a part of my review on supplements, I am going to start with Juice Plus. Most of you have probably heard of Juice Plus, know someone who sells it, or have seen it at a tradefair.

What it is:

The Juice Plus slogan is: “The next best thing to fruits and vegetables.” Canadians don’t eat enough fruits and vegetables. And the most commonly consumed vegetable is potatoes! Juice Plus contains concentrates from 17 fruits, veggies and grains (capsules or chews) in Garden Blend, Orchard Blend and Vineyard Blend.

Pros:

1) One major advantage of Juice Plus is that it is just fruits and veggies, with no isolated vitamins and minerals. The phytochemicals in foods work synergystically and you can’t add them all to a traditional vitamin. Because of this, I like the idea of a whole foods supplement.

2) Juice Plus also has an impressive amount of quality research studies to support that the antioxidants are absorbed, it reduces oxidative stress, helps protect DNA and cardiovascular health and supports healthy skin and gums. I’m intrigued by the the potential benefits of Juice Plus during pregnancy; the research is still underway.

3) It’s not a substitute for eating fruits or veggies, nor does it claim to be. But Juice Plus could provide worried parents a bit of comfort for a child that does not like fruits or veggies (ok – it’s almost always vegetables!). It doesn’t get you out of the parental responsibility of continuing to offer your child vegetables. But your child chooses not to eat them, at least you can be confident they are getting a bit of veggie powder in Juice Plus!

Cons:

1) Unlike a more comprehensive multivitamin, you may need to take additional supplements, such as Omega 3 and vitamin D and folic acid.

2) You have to order in 4 month increments, and have to order both the Orchard and Garden Blends. You can’t just order the veggie (Garden) blend, if you think you or your child eats plenty of fruit but not enough veggies.

3) The chews (that I’ve been feeding my kids) are sugary. I worry that although Juice Plus can strengthen gums and teeth, that the sugar and stickiness of the chews will over-ride this and lead to cavities! I would love to see them sweetened with tooth-friendly xylitol instead.

My Juice Plus Trial: While there are lots of testimonials about feeling more energy, sleeping better, having healthier teeth and gums…..I didn’t notice anything. However, I was not measuring my antioxidant levels or DNA damage, and I believe it is still working at a cellular level. I took 2 Garden and 2 Orchard Blend capsules per day, as directed. I find the capsules a bit large and sometimes get stuck in my throat. I suppose this just encourages me to drink more water with them! Or you can break them up and put the powder in a smoothie or yogurt or oatmeal.

I have also been feeding my kids the Juice Plus Chews. My 2 year old daughter spits them out about half the time, but my 6 year old son loves them.  My son is rarely ever sick and doesn’t often catch little sister’s colds! I’m not sure if this is due to Juice Plus, but it could be playing a small role.

Have you tried Juice Plus? What do you think of it? If you would like to learn more or order, let me  know and I will pass your contact information along to my distributor friend Cindy.

58 Responses to Supplement Review: Juice Plus
  1. Natalia
    May 11, 2014 | 6:42 am

    Any form of food in capsules is not real food,only an industry product.End of story with this Juice Plus.I eat real fruits and real vegetables on a daily basis and I feed them to my kids too.Whoever feeds whatever solo precious capsules,juices etc to his kids is plain irresponsible for me .

  2. Tracey
    May 15, 2014 | 7:44 am

    To the lovers good for you. To the haters, you are entitled to your opinion whether personal or professional. It is people’s personal choice as to what they consume. If this product changes only lifestyle, then what is wrong with that? If it makes you feel better, than that’s great. If you see no difference, then stop using it. If you had a reaction to it then again, discontinue use. No one is forcing anyone to use it product. How the product is sold doesn’t make the product less effective. Some of the comments on here are just a waste of a good tread. To each is own, it’s like saying the only good vehicle is a Honda. It’s your choice!

  3. Erika
    May 16, 2014 | 10:27 am

    I can’t think of a single reason why anyone should be so rude (regarding the Xylitol comment). Everyone makes mistakes, and I’m sure knowledge of Xylitol is anything but common. I’ll keep the rest of what I’d like to say to myself…

    Regarding Juice Plus, THANK YOU for this post, and all of the CONSTRUCTIVE information, both pros and cons. I am not too fond of swallowing pills, but I have been taking chewable vitamins for over a year now. I am a Health Promotion major in school and don’t usually agree with anything besides “eating raw fruits and veggies,” but this world is far from perfect and not everyone can or will do so. I have heard of Juice Plus before and thought the idea to be a good one, especially considering the contents and their synergistic properties. Being in college I don’t have the most money to keep up lots of supplements on top of eating organic, but I would like to give it a try.

  4. Amber
    May 18, 2014 | 2:47 pm

    Natalia, have you tried juice plus? Just because someone choices to add juice plus to there children’s diet as a healthy supplement doesn’t make them a irresponsible parent. Maybe you should learn to reconsider how you say thing!

  5. Candice Montoya
    May 22, 2014 | 10:24 am

    I have been taking Juice PLus for eleven years and became a distributor ten years ago. The first thing that thrilled me about Juice Plus was that my cravings for sugar greatly diminished and my son started craving carrots. Blood tests through SpectraCell Labs have confirmed my antioxidant levels above 65% which is the highest category. All my blood work has improved through the years. I get compliments all the time about how young I look, love that!! I appreciate the fact that Juice Plus offers educational seminars conducted by highly credentialed and successful health care professionals all over the world.
    As far as the cons go here, I am not aware of any comprehensive multivitamin that even exists that contains everything in one pill and that has any independent clinical research to back its safety or efficacy. Comparing Juice Plus to a multi is like comparing apples to oranges except the multivitamin has no apples or oranges that Juice Plus has including thousands of phyto-nutrients, live enzymes. You can order the orchard or garden separately if you choose to do so. Juice Plus isn’t something you try to see if it does anything in your body, it’s something you take because you understand the benefits of better nutrition and thirty one (31) studies published in peer reviewed medical journals all of which rank at the top of their class is undeniable. However gambling with my health waiting for something to happen like disease which could takes years to show up isn’t something I’m willing to risk at the sake of savings less than a few dollars a day and in the short and long term have already saved me thousands in health care dollars. (oops Big Pharma bloggers don’t want to hear that one)

  6. Casey
    May 26, 2014 | 6:54 am

    Couple of things:

    1. Xylitol isn’t used bc it isn’t natural. And therefore it isn’t used. The sugars used are only naturally occurring sugars

    2. Erika – college students can get on it for free. Or at least half off by splitting with another college students. It can be done through the children’s health study.

  7. Traci Hamilton
    May 28, 2014 | 11:04 am

    Thanks for this honest review of Juice Plus. I have been approached by a friend of my fathers to get involved in selling the product via network marketing, but I need to investigate the claims further. I am already very much into juicing fresh organic fruits and vegetables, I have seen the benefits for my health, especially my hair and skin. These capsule seem like a good idea in theory (only as a supplement), especially for those who are too busy (and juicing can be messy) – however until I review the reseach claims I will not by buying the product or getting involved in selling either. By the way the link in the article to Juice Plus research is broken (404 not found) – the correct link can be found here: http://www.juiceplus.com/content/JuicePlus/en/clinical-research/juice-plus-clinical-research.html#.U4Ykhij1vEI

    Many thanks,
    Traci

  8. admin
    May 28, 2014 | 11:26 am

    Casey, here is some information about xylitol and how it is produced: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xylitol
    The package in my pantry is derived from hardwood, and it’s found in many fruits and veggies.

Leave a Reply

Wanting to leave an <em>phasis on your comment?

*

Trackback URL http://firststepnutrition.com/supplement-review-juice-plus/trackback