End -->

Supplement Review: Juice Plus

As a part of my review on supplements, I am going to start with Juice Plus. Most of you have probably heard of Juice Plus, know someone who sells it, or have seen it at a tradefair.

What it is:

The Juice Plus slogan is: “The next best thing to fruits and vegetables.” Canadians don’t eat enough fruits and vegetables. And the most commonly consumed vegetable is potatoes! Juice Plus contains concentrates from 17 fruits, veggies and grains (capsules or chews) in Garden Blend, Orchard Blend and Vineyard Blend.

Pros:

1) One major advantage of Juice Plus is that it is just fruits and veggies, with no isolated vitamins and minerals. The phytochemicals in foods work synergystically and you can’t add them all to a traditional vitamin. Because of this, I like the idea of a whole foods supplement.

2) Juice Plus also has an impressive amount of quality research studies to support that the antioxidants are absorbed, it reduces oxidative stress, helps protect DNA and cardiovascular health and supports healthy skin and gums. I’m intrigued by the the potential benefits of Juice Plus during pregnancy; the research is still underway.

3) It’s not a substitute for eating fruits or veggies, nor does it claim to be. But Juice Plus could provide worried parents a bit of comfort for a child that does not like fruits or veggies (ok – it’s almost always vegetables!). It doesn’t get you out of the parental responsibility of continuing to offer your child vegetables. But your child chooses not to eat them, at least you can be confident they are getting a bit of veggie powder in Juice Plus!

Cons:

1) Unlike a more comprehensive multivitamin, you may need to take additional supplements, such as Omega 3 and vitamin D and folic acid.

2) You have to order in 4 month increments, and have to order both the Orchard and Garden Blends. You can’t just order the veggie (Garden) blend, if you think you or your child eats plenty of fruit but not enough veggies.

3) The chews (that I’ve been feeding my kids) are sugary. I worry that although Juice Plus can strengthen gums and teeth, that the sugar and stickiness of the chews will over-ride this and lead to cavities! I would love to see them sweetened with tooth-friendly xylitol instead.

My Juice Plus Trial: While there are lots of testimonials about feeling more energy, sleeping better, having healthier teeth and gums…..I didn’t notice anything. However, I was not measuring my antioxidant levels or DNA damage, and I believe it is still working at a cellular level. I took 2 Garden and 2 Orchard Blend capsules per day, as directed. I find the capsules a bit large and sometimes get stuck in my throat. I suppose this just encourages me to drink more water with them! Or you can break them up and put the powder in a smoothie or yogurt or oatmeal.

I have also been feeding my kids the Juice Plus Chews. My 2 year old daughter spits them out about half the time, but my 6 year old son loves them.  My son is rarely ever sick and doesn’t often catch little sister’s colds! I’m not sure if this is due to Juice Plus, but it could be playing a small role.

Have you tried Juice Plus? What do you think of it? If you would like to learn more or order, let me  know and I will pass your contact information along to my distributor friend Cindy.

75 Responses to Supplement Review: Juice Plus
  1. Natalia
    May 11, 2014 | 6:42 am

    Any form of food in capsules is not real food,only an industry product.End of story with this Juice Plus.I eat real fruits and real vegetables on a daily basis and I feed them to my kids too.Whoever feeds whatever solo precious capsules,juices etc to his kids is plain irresponsible for me .

  2. Tracey
    May 15, 2014 | 7:44 am

    To the lovers good for you. To the haters, you are entitled to your opinion whether personal or professional. It is people’s personal choice as to what they consume. If this product changes only lifestyle, then what is wrong with that? If it makes you feel better, than that’s great. If you see no difference, then stop using it. If you had a reaction to it then again, discontinue use. No one is forcing anyone to use it product. How the product is sold doesn’t make the product less effective. Some of the comments on here are just a waste of a good tread. To each is own, it’s like saying the only good vehicle is a Honda. It’s your choice!

  3. Erika
    May 16, 2014 | 10:27 am

    I can’t think of a single reason why anyone should be so rude (regarding the Xylitol comment). Everyone makes mistakes, and I’m sure knowledge of Xylitol is anything but common. I’ll keep the rest of what I’d like to say to myself…

    Regarding Juice Plus, THANK YOU for this post, and all of the CONSTRUCTIVE information, both pros and cons. I am not too fond of swallowing pills, but I have been taking chewable vitamins for over a year now. I am a Health Promotion major in school and don’t usually agree with anything besides “eating raw fruits and veggies,” but this world is far from perfect and not everyone can or will do so. I have heard of Juice Plus before and thought the idea to be a good one, especially considering the contents and their synergistic properties. Being in college I don’t have the most money to keep up lots of supplements on top of eating organic, but I would like to give it a try.

  4. Amber
    May 18, 2014 | 2:47 pm

    Natalia, have you tried juice plus? Just because someone choices to add juice plus to there children’s diet as a healthy supplement doesn’t make them a irresponsible parent. Maybe you should learn to reconsider how you say thing!

  5. Candice Montoya
    May 22, 2014 | 10:24 am

    I have been taking Juice PLus for eleven years and became a distributor ten years ago. The first thing that thrilled me about Juice Plus was that my cravings for sugar greatly diminished and my son started craving carrots. Blood tests through SpectraCell Labs have confirmed my antioxidant levels above 65% which is the highest category. All my blood work has improved through the years. I get compliments all the time about how young I look, love that!! I appreciate the fact that Juice Plus offers educational seminars conducted by highly credentialed and successful health care professionals all over the world.
    As far as the cons go here, I am not aware of any comprehensive multivitamin that even exists that contains everything in one pill and that has any independent clinical research to back its safety or efficacy. Comparing Juice Plus to a multi is like comparing apples to oranges except the multivitamin has no apples or oranges that Juice Plus has including thousands of phyto-nutrients, live enzymes. You can order the orchard or garden separately if you choose to do so. Juice Plus isn’t something you try to see if it does anything in your body, it’s something you take because you understand the benefits of better nutrition and thirty one (31) studies published in peer reviewed medical journals all of which rank at the top of their class is undeniable. However gambling with my health waiting for something to happen like disease which could takes years to show up isn’t something I’m willing to risk at the sake of savings less than a few dollars a day and in the short and long term have already saved me thousands in health care dollars. (oops Big Pharma bloggers don’t want to hear that one)

  6. Casey
    May 26, 2014 | 6:54 am

    Couple of things:

    1. Xylitol isn’t used bc it isn’t natural. And therefore it isn’t used. The sugars used are only naturally occurring sugars

    2. Erika – college students can get on it for free. Or at least half off by splitting with another college students. It can be done through the children’s health study.

  7. Traci Hamilton
    May 28, 2014 | 11:04 am

    Thanks for this honest review of Juice Plus. I have been approached by a friend of my fathers to get involved in selling the product via network marketing, but I need to investigate the claims further. I am already very much into juicing fresh organic fruits and vegetables, I have seen the benefits for my health, especially my hair and skin. These capsule seem like a good idea in theory (only as a supplement), especially for those who are too busy (and juicing can be messy) – however until I review the reseach claims I will not by buying the product or getting involved in selling either. By the way the link in the article to Juice Plus research is broken (404 not found) – the correct link can be found here: http://www.juiceplus.com/content/JuicePlus/en/clinical-research/juice-plus-clinical-research.html#.U4Ykhij1vEI

    Many thanks,
    Traci

  8. admin
    May 28, 2014 | 11:26 am

    Casey, here is some information about xylitol and how it is produced: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xylitol
    The package in my pantry is derived from hardwood, and it’s found in many fruits and veggies.

  9. Marcy Boyle
    June 4, 2014 | 4:40 am

    You can order just the Garden Blend. Contact your distributor or go directly to The Juice Plus Company. Let me know if you need help.

    Marcy
    303-906-6197

  10. lisa
    June 7, 2014 | 5:57 am

    Hi the pills are a little lrg….you can open them put them in a smoothie this. Juice plus is not a meal replacement. There are pros and cons just like anything we actually eat. I have found way more pros than cons…and its to fit each individuals. ..my grand daughter(3) is very picky and you can’t force her to eat right so I feel this will help her:)

  11. DJ
    June 25, 2014 | 1:39 pm

    I’ve taken Juice Plus consistently for 8 years now, the Orchard and Garden Blends. I only take them because I don’t eat enough vegetables on a daily basis, but do get enough fruits. I can tell you that I haven’t had a cold or flu in that 8 year span. Overall, I have felt much more healthier since starting the regime. Kudos to Juice Plus and to each his own.

  12. Jessica
    June 30, 2014 | 12:47 pm

    I have a science background and my husband is an RN. We have 2 little kids and have incorporated Juice Plus into our daily lives. My daughter has sensory processing disorder (a sensory seeker) and puts her hands all over everything then into her mouth. After a year on Juice Plus, she literally never gets sick. I’m sorry Natalia is so offended by a fruit / veggie product that tries to bridge the gap. I’m very into nutrition and my kids generally eat well but since the USDA is recommending 7-12 servings of fruits and veggies a day, it’s impossible for me, even, to get that day in and day out. I’m 46 and am very, very healthy. I think Juice Plus is amazing and for all the skeptics out there, please do your research on the hard data. There are tons of MD’s who are actually asking to do research with it. We love it.

  13. Robbie
    July 10, 2014 | 6:50 am

    Come on people, you cant improve what nature already provided I cant see how heating and concentrating to a powder fruits and veggies can bring you good health. Eat fresh fruits and veggies and then watch your health skyrocket.. Corporate America is / has been infiltrating the health food industry with their lies and deceit. There just big pharma profiting from sickness and now giving the magic pill to restore the health that they already stole.

  14. Brayden
    July 13, 2014 | 5:07 pm

    It is impossible to deliver the nutrients of five servings of fruits in several capsules weighing 850mg.

    ‘No capsules can substitute for fruits and vegetables, which contain the best balance of nutrients and phytochemicals.’

    ‘You cannot “concentrate” significant amounts of them in a capsule.’

    Juice plus is sold at an exaggerated value and cost.

  15. Caroline
    July 16, 2014 | 7:45 am

    As a Registered Holistic Nutritionist I believe we should be getting our nutrients from whole foods however in this fast paced world, we are not taking the time and effort to do so. I am on the road a week out of every month and find it hard to stick to a healthy dietary routine in certain parts of the country. I take Juice Plus myself and think of it as an insurance policy. The biggest differences I have noticed is in my hair and nails and my quality of sleep. It has all improved immensely. I take a probiotic daily as well as a fish oil supplement and find that works well for me. I have always been a strong believer in find what works for you and stick with it. If you like Juice Plus, fabulous! If you prefer to get your nutrients from your food, good for you! Just make sure it’s good quality and not loaded with herbicides and pesticides.

  16. Andy
    July 30, 2014 | 1:23 am

    Please note that the “Research” that is usually peddled by those selling Juice Plus is not what most scientists would consider unbiased. The vast majority of the “research” is done without double blind or placebo and again the vast majority are FUNDED by JP. In terms of peer review those peers are usually on the JP payroll.

    I have been looking into this for months and have yet to see an independently funded, peer reviewed paper that shows any real benefits….. JP sellers have promised to send me such research but I’m still waiting…..

  17. christina rodgers
    August 28, 2014 | 2:09 pm

    I do not have a problem with adults taking in addition to a regular diet! However I do Not think kids should took take it until teenage years! Parents who chose to do it for them is fine. But also teach your kids to eat fruits and Vegs. My sister in-law does it for her and I’m so happy but she is not on a regular diet. Now my only problem is that now my niece and nephew (3&1 of age) are taking it rather than eating regular food that is my only problem with this product. Not for kids! Only for adults!!!!

  18. Barry
    August 29, 2014 | 5:23 am

    I find it bezarre that your son now loves carrots after taking a pill. Let’s face it if you edudate them from a younger age with real food they will continue along that path.
    Each time I here somebody raving about this product they are always selling it.

  19. Lorna
    September 8, 2014 | 1:56 am

    I have been taking Juice Plus Orchard Blend anad Garden Blend for half a month now. My sister gave it to me. I should say that these products work for me. I have a good relaxing sleep and when I wake up ,I feel so fresh . I work at night and sleeps during day time. Juice plus really helps me a lot. I would like to buy these product but I am wondering where to buy here in Cebu Philippines. Anyone can recommend where I will order Juice Plus?

  20. […] Supplement Review: Juice Plus | First Step Nutrition – … I like the idea of a whole foods supplement. 2) Juice Plus also has an impressive amount of quality research studies to support that the antioxidants … Being in college I don’t have the most money to keep up lots of supplements on top of eating organic, but I would like to give it a try … […]

  21. Jeff
    September 23, 2014 | 9:25 am

    Hello, all!

    I wanted to address a two of the “cons” originally listed. The first is the statement that “Unlike a more comprehensive multivitamin, you may need to take additional supplements, such as Omega 3 and vitamin D and folic acid.” My problem isn’t with the notion that one should consume Omega 3, Vitamin D, or folic acid, but rather that there is such a thing as a “more comprehensive multivitamin.” There is no evidence what so ever that vitamin supplements are absorbed or utilized by the body, in fact most conclude that those supplements produce expensive urine. My second issue was with the sugar substitute comment, but it was addressed in a previous post in that only naturally occurring sugars are used.
    I feel I must disclose that I am a representative of the Juice Plus+ company and do stand behind it’s research and proudly consume and dispense the product to family and friends the world over. We do not claim for it to be a miracle “fix all” for your ailments and poor diet. It is a bridge between what you should eat and what you are actually (or not actually) eating. If you consume enough raw fruits and vegetables to suffice a 7-13 serving a day intake, then bravo. I know that I do not. This product simply lets me get a little closer to a fully balanced nutritional diet.
    If anyone has any comments concerns or direct questions you can visit my webpage at http://jweyrauch.juiceplus.com/ or email me at jeff.weyrauch@gmail.com and I will attempt to answer any questions you have in an honest and forward fashion.

    Sincerely,

    Jeff Weyrauch

  22. Melissa
    October 7, 2014 | 10:41 am

    Our family has been taking JP for almost 3 months. We noticed changes right away though we made minor changes to our diet as well. We usually ate well but did like to snack a lot and I was a fast food momma with three kids. After starting JP, all our tastes changed and we ate better. That is a very brief summary. I would offer that trying JP can not hurt you as it is ONLY a whole food based product. If it works for you, great. If not, to each his own.

  23. Amy
    October 26, 2014 | 5:36 pm

    Please visit the website to get current information, as new studies come out regularly, showing benefits to the nutrients of Juice Plus. My husband and I have not missed a day in nearly 14 years, and we also grow organic foods, in soil and hydroponically. No one will tell you that this takes the place of a healthy diet, only that it fills the gaps between our best efforts and the 7-13 servings currently recommended for daily optimal health. I welcome any questions.

  24. Ally
    November 5, 2014 | 7:05 pm

    To Natalia—Harsh! You are entitled to your opinion. I haven’t tried Juice Plus yet, but as a parent of a 4 & 7 yr old who will only eat carrots, if there was something to supplement, like vitamins, it would be irresponsible of me to not do it. I make sure they try vegetables at every chance, but one bite is all they’ll usually eat them the fit starts. They don’t act like this about anything else. I appreciate the others who tried to offer objective feedback.

  25. Janet
    November 21, 2014 | 8:40 am

    Single Mom on Juice Plus for 10 yrs… started in 2004 during a sinus infection 103 fever. 10 times a year usually I would be sick and miss a week of work. Started taking had no more sinus infections since 2004… Juice Plus is all natural and its a Whole Food Nutrition that is why it has nutrition facts and not Supplement facts. It is worth it to try. It takes 21 days for your blood to cycle through so the 4 month supply is a good test to see what it does. it does so much more in your body you dont see. My siblings all have high Blood pressure, migraines, and both brothers have had strokes.. I have had none of this and I am at present 261 lbs down from 330.5 lbs. It is not a cure all that is true.. But for the benefits it does provide I love it.

Leave a Reply

Wanting to leave an <em>phasis on your comment?

*

Trackback URL http://firststepnutrition.com/supplement-review-juice-plus/trackback